Recent Posts

  • We all know that people in financial aid love to eat. At least, that’s been true for the places where I have worked. When I worked at UNC we started with “office Tuesday treat day,” then moved on to potlucks. Once that got old, we......

  • We’re in the home stretch – less than 60 days to go until CAFAA’s 50th Anniversary Celebration and 2017 Annual Conference!  The Annual Conference Planning Committee has been hard at work over the last few months, making sure we pay attention to every little detail to......

  • When a student or family reaches out to the Financial Aid Office to schedule an appointment, or wants to talk with a staff member on how they can take care of the remaining balance due for an upcoming year, we are usually encouraged by their......

Through training and outreach, CAFAA advances the financial aid profession in order to be the primary source in Colorado for information and guidance regarding the financing of student higher education.

CAFAA Officers

Eileen Griego


Colorado State University

Ofelia Morales


University of Colorado – Boulder

Tom Biedscheid

Past President

Colorado State University

Michael Murphy


Rhonda Martinez


Colorado Community College System

Tara Spritzer


Colorado State University

Chris Peterson


Aims Community College

Lou Melucci 

Past Treasurer

University of Colorado – Boulder


Dean Wilson

4-Year Public Representative

Metropolitan State University

Ariel Mendez

2-Year Public Representative

Arapahoe Community College

Kathy Gonzalez

4-Year Private Representative

Nancy DiSante

Proprietary School Representative

Concorde Career College

Shawn Murphy

Service Organization Representative

Beth Romba

Conference Chair

Front Range Community College

Shawn Jackson

Financial Aid Awareness Chair

Community College of Denver

Heidi Markey

Historian Chair

Arapahoe Community College

Lesa Briggs

Membership Chair

University of Colorado – Denver

Cassie Seamans

Newsletter/Blog Chair

University of Colorado – Boulder


Sara Gossman

Professional Development Chair

Colorado State University

Mike Pearce

Technology Chair

Colorado Community College Systems